Home > Rant > Make WORK your favorite!

Make WORK your favorite!


I SWEAR, I LOVE that quote from Elf.  It cracks me up every time I say it.

make-work-your-favorite

 So this blog is in response to the “you should blog more”, which I get a LOT.  Where does that COME from?  I don’t blog much.  I would say RARELY.  I try to blog about things that are productive, but they always turn into crazy rants.  THAT’S what THIS is.  I figure I’d get that out of the way so it would NOT be incorporated into my NEXT blog post which should actually be HELPFUL.  At least I HOPE it’ll be helpful.

 I SHOULD be working!  There is SO MUCH to do.  Why the HELL am I blogging?  I read about 4 or 5 different posts about “infinite or endless” scrolling.  This is a term used where your client (web or app) requests a bit of data to fill the screen which returns MUCH faster than attempting to request ALL of it.  Instead of having paging controls that just take up valuable real estate on the screen, the client monitors the scrolling of the window and if the user scrolls down then more data is loaded to fill that empty space.  The user keeps scrolling and the client keeps requesting more data.  There were a few posts about this that were total crap and totally confusing.  I stumbled across one that was pretty close, but they took their complex example and went with it (and some of their HTML was malformed and didn’t render properly).  If you’re going to demonstrate a piece of core functionality, then your objects DON’T need to be that complex.  Keep it SIMPLE!!  THEN if you want to go into something crazy then by all means DO THAT.

So that’s what I’m going to try to do with my next example.  Keep it bare bones and then if I feel like I have the time, then expand on that.

And THAT’S the problem.  WHO has the time to BLOG?  If there isn’t WORK  or other obligations to do (like random legal bullshit) then WHY the hell would anybody BLOG when they COULD be playing Xbox?  Yeah, I don’t get it either.  I certainly DON’T get paid for this.  I would definitely like to THANK the people who took the time to blog about endless scrolling and I could piece together the different examples (most that did NOT work right out of the box) and make it my own.  So I will take the complex code that I’ve already expanded upon and make it SIMPLE for the next post.

</rant>

If you’re following this then PLEASE SAY SOMETHING.  Put a comment below and THANK YOU for listening to my rant.

Categories: Rant
  1. Raj
    09/12/2016 at 12:51 am

    Something! 😊

  2. Chris Nash
    09/12/2016 at 8:18 am

    I agree! Examples should work out of the box and should be simple! Complexity can be added later.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

