Idiot Driver 2.0


My FIRST thought is WHY did this TAKE so (expletive deleted) DAMN long?  All right, all right.  I’ll cut you some slack Microsoft.  You DID give me the App Dev account for FREE.  I’ll give you that.  PLUS, you’re making sure my code isn’t stealing somebody’s password or doing something malicious to their phone.

That’s the timely news.  But if we warp back to two weekends ago, I would have been throwing QUITE a few expletives towards Twitter.  It was rainy and overcast and was the perfect time to update Idiot Driver to 2.0 and apply the “metro” look to the main page.

I have a few custom controls that I wrote for the settings page that prompt for input.  The first one is just a single field with Ok and Cancel all placed on a modal background.  I can adjust THAT font size so it’s a bit bigger (I know, it should be even BIGGER – next version).  Most of the default text blocks are pretty small.  Call it programming for the blind.  Which I am.  Oh sure, I can SEE, but I need a powerful prescription to see WELL.  I added a small “drop arrow” to the metro button so it looks more like a drop down list.  WHY Microsoft didn’t make this style a default is beyond me.

This modal field was NOT wrapping the text and was seriously annoying so I fixed that.  AND I intercepted the “Back” button in the modal field so it wouldn’t dismiss the entire page and go back to the previous page or exit you out of the application.  If the modal is displayed, the first press of the back button will dismiss the keyboard and the next press of the back button will dismiss the field.  A minor technicality, but definitely a LOT less annoying.

Raj sent me some code that he found on the net which basically adds the tilt effect to EVERY control that can do it.  So I added these tags to the top of each page and it just WORKED.  I was pretty happy about that, but the highlight color is pure white which is pretty ugly.  Maybe not ugly enough to try to change it before the next release, but I’ll get to it.

xmlns:STK=”clrnamespace:Microsoft.Phone.Controls;assembly=Microsoft.Phone.Controls.Toolkit”
STK:TiltEffect.IsTiltEnabled=”True”>

 I added <<MYTAG>> substitution which is similar to the <<TAG>> substitution but it replaces the <<MYTAG>> with YOUR license plate it you’ve defined it.

The name change was pretty easy too.  Just make sure that all or your application name references are changed (including the manifest).  By doing that, the name will change in the Windows Marketplace.  I think that’s what took so long with certification and then the subsequent publishing to the WM.

The thing that REALLY got me all steamed was the fact that Twitter changed their REST (Representational State Transfer) response.  Everything above, including the manifest change, took me about 3 hours.  I was all set to test things on thephone (versus testing on the emulator).  That means I had to re-authenticate with Twitter.  This is where things failed.  I was able to get to the Twitter Authentication page, but once I pressed OK the navigation events would trigger and the response came back compressed.  The code I had was definitely NOT expecting this and spit out some graphical characters in the error box.  This meant that TEXT was definitely NOT coming back from Twitter and I had a long road ahead of me to try to figure out what was going wrong.  I Bing’d a bit and found that Twitter had made an announcement a while back that they WOULD be doing this.  GREAT!  I just get my application out to the marketplace just in time for Twitter to change their
minds AGAIN.  Just like with the first Twitter hurdle, the posts are REALLY old and out of date.  Although I saw something that looked promising.  “All I had to do was set two properties in the request and everything worked!”  This was coming from some post.  So I tried it, and I got nothing.  I was still getting compressed data in the response.  I figured I was going to have to decompress it myself.

I ended up using a GzipInputStream in one of the libraries that I was already using.  There was quite a bit of setup because you have to take the “character” data and convert it to bytes.  Then put the bytes into a MemoryStream.  THEN hand the MemoryStream off to the GzipInputStream.  I tested it and I got “bad magic”.  No.  SERIOUSLY.  “Bad Magic” means that the first two bytes of the data were NOT correct.  Not the correct “magic” (or completely arbitrary) numbers that mean THIS data stream is “Gzip Compressed”.  For data that has been gzipped those magical first two bytes are 13 and 139.  The stream that was coming back from Twitter was 13 and 253.  I tried quite a few permutations of properties and spitting things out to the debug window and I could ONLY debug the stuff ON my phone.  PHUN!!

if (response.Headers[“Content-Encoding”] == “gzip”)
{
    // MAGIC: First byte (13), second byte (139)
    // BOGUS coming back from Twitter: First byte (13), second byte (253)

    byte[] bytes = StringToByteArray(content);

    //bytes[1] = 139;

    using (MemoryStream stream = new MemoryStream(bytes))
    {
        using (GZipInputStream gzipStream = new GZipInputStream(stream))
{
using (StreamReader reader = new StreamReader(gzipStream))
{
StringBuilder builder = new StringBuilder();

                while (reader.Peek() > -1)
                {
                    int theByte = reader.Read();

                    builder.Append(((char)theByte).ToString());
}

                content = builder.ToString();
}
}
}

    Debug.WriteLine(string.Format(“content = ‘{0}'”, content));
}

I tried different Gzip libraries that Hammock might recognize to NO avail.  SIX hours later I figured I needed to head back to Bing.

I ran across a thread on a Twitter API forum that took me back to CodePlex.  REALLY?  I had gotten just about every library from CodePlex so why not some SOURCE?  I grabbed the source for Hammock and SharpZipLib.  That didn’t work.  I was getting reference errors and the namespaces were out of whack.  More Binging…  I found https://github.com/GunioRobot/hammock and downloaded the source from there.   I scooped those pre built DLLs from the projects and plopped them into my project.  BOOM!  Object reference not set.  AGAIN!  REALLY?  I stepped through the code and bit and saw something out of alignment.  So I brought the Hammock AND SharpZipLib project into MY project and hoped for the best.  I ABSOLUTELY could NOT believe it.  All of the source compiled and loaded onto my phone.  It actually WORKED!!  I threw my arms up in the air.  TOUCHDOWN!!  WOOO!!  I could NOT believe it.  I was hopeful, but wasn’t expecting even THIS to work.  So if I initially had ALL of the source in my project then…   “All I had to do was set two properties in the request and everything worked!”

I apologize to my friends that aren’t nerds who actually stuck it out to the end of this.  My brain hurt for quite a few hours, at least YOURS can hurt for a few minutes reading this.  😉

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

